HAWMC 2013 Day 14: Sharing the love! I would like to thank…

 

HAWMC_2012_dayprompt-14

 

Welcome to the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge brought together by WEGO Health – a social network for all health activists.  Again, I am participating in the annual Writer’s Month Challenge in which I will be writing about my health activism and health condition based upon prompts given.

Today’s prompt reads as follows:

Thank a few of your fellow Health Activists for what they have done.  Call them out by name or twitter handle.  Share your love!

Ever since I began this blog back last January I have been blessed to have met some wonderful people through the blog and twitter.  This gives me the most wonderful opportunity to thank some of them who have made the most impact; whom have been inspirational; and those who have not only given me support, but have also supported so many others.

The first person I have to thank is Marissa (@marissaabledis) who was the first person who inspired me to start the blog; as well as given me the confidence, and for always supporting me in everything that I do.  As well as this, I would also like to mention her outstanding work last year for her fantastic ’12-12-12 Project: 12 Months; 12 Journeys; 12 Lessons’ series, in which I was honoured to be a part of.  In this project, Marissa highlighted various chronic conditions, educating herself on all them as well as through a podcast learn about the person’s journey with the condition.

As well as all this, Marissa is a fantastic advocate for those living with chronic dizziness; and is a great supporter of everyone living with dizziness.  Soon she will be embarking on a series of podcasts with a friend of hers about living with dizziness.  The series will be called ‘The Spin Sisters Podcast’.  The details can be found on their Facebook Page .

Another health activist who I really admire is Pamela (@dystoniamuse) and I truly love her blog ‘Chronicles of a Dystonia Muse’; it’s a light-hearted blog which chronicles Pam’s experiences with a neurological condition called Dystonia.  Pam is a true advocate for patients with Dystonia; and does a lot of work to bring awareness of the condition as well as supporting those already diagnosed.  Not only is her blog fantastically well-written; but Pam has also become a great friend and supporter.  Pam also makes the effort to comment on many posts that I have written, all of which complimentary.  I really appreciate the support and care Pam has shown me, and this is a brilliant opportunity to thank her, for her support and let others know of her great work as a health advocate.

Another health advocate that I would like to acknowledge is that of another good friend; who also helped set the ‘Spoonie Book Club’ that I am a part of, is Anya from the brilliant blog ‘The Patient Patient‘.   Anya successfully advocates for herself and others living with long-term health conditions.  Anya mentors others living with long-term chronic illnesses as part of the Expert Patient Programme as well as talking to medical students on the patient perspective of the biopsychosocial model of disease, which can only benefit all patients as newly qualified doctors reach a better understanding of what it is like for us all living with chronic illnesses, leading to better understanding and treatment from the medical profession.

And lastly I have to thank all those involved with the upcoming magazine – ‘Unseen Magazine‘ – a magazine for all those living with chronic illness; attempting to improve the lives of everyone battling long-term health conditions.  They really deserve so much recognition for their work, and for giving us all living with chronic illness a voice, and providing us with something that we can relate to.  And a special mention to the magazine’s editor Aisha who have not been another great supporter of mine but has truly become a special friend too.

Other blog and health advocates who are worth a mention:

Kim – ‘Hope Whispers‘ – a great blog chronicling life with a rare liver disease, Budd-Chiari Syndrome

Sarah Levis – ‘Girl With The Cane‘ – another great advocate for those with disabilities.  Sarah uses her experiences with acquiring and living with the effects of physical disability as well as her work with those with intellectual disabilities, to approach and write regarding disability advocacy, education and associated issues in her fantastic blog.

 

Who are some of your favourite health activists or bloggers?  Share the love and comment below!….

 

4 thoughts on “HAWMC 2013 Day 14: Sharing the love! I would like to thank…

  1. You are one of my favourite bloggers! Loving your posts this April – keeping me going through a tough few weeks, and always bring a smile to my face! 🙂 keep it up!

  2. […] The prompts like always were a mixture of being, fun, challenging as well as being thought-provoking.  One prompt I really enjoyed, but initially found very challenging was the post regarding Adversity (“The flower that blooms in adversity…”).  I initially found it very difficult to write especially regarding when I bloom best.  However, although I found it challenging, I thought in the end it was one of my favourite and best written post!  I also loved the prompt which asked us to ‘spread the love’ and thank some of our favourite health activists; this was such a great opportunity for me to thank those who have supported me and helped me through some tough times with illness (Sharing the Love!  I would like to thank…). […]

Leave a comment